The Most Wonderful Time

Guess who had three cups of coffee tonight at the party? This girl.

The big man and the mini-men are a-bed. The big man finished up his ER rotation tonight, and the mini-men partied hard. The miniest (am I losing you?) napped mid-party, but Kingston…well, the guy knows how to socialize. Hanging with the kids freaked him out so he stayed up with the adults, flirting, chatting, drinking eggnog. At the end of the night he was happily camped out on the sofa between two ladies, having a blast. Hoo boy.

This is our first Christmas here at the new place. Have to admit, I wasn’t too fond of the idea of decorating, since I’m still just decorating the house for, you know, the other 11 months of the year. Turns out this house looks quite charming with her hypothetical halls bedecked.

It’s so interesting seeing people’s trees on my newsfeed. Christmas trees are like handwriting:  personal, tell-tale. My tree has colored lights, because that’s what I grew up with and it just seems more warm and familial. Here’s some snaps of my decor this year. Enjoy the dying days of Christmas beauty before the LED craze brings the entire country down… the visual equivalent of “Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer.”

DSCF6877

Admired my friend’s little birds, so she gave me one. 🙂

DSCF6871

DSCF6900

The strand of stars and the little ornaments are from Germany. My Mother In Law just brought them.

DSCF6875

The bark reindeer and candle, also gifts from Germany. The white deer head from my friend.

DSCF6881

And angel from Kenya

DSCF6882

This ceramic tree is from my Grandma. She loved Christmas. I love having a piece of her Christmas in mine now.

DSCF6884

“Come Adore”

DSCF6890

How awesome are these guys? From the same friend mentioned above. 🙂 Where would my Christmas be without her? 🙂 The mushroom is from Ikea.

DSCF6893

The mantel. Stockings hand-knit by an aunt. Pictures of my babes at Christmas-time. Nativity from-guess?? My Christmas-loving friend.

DSCF6897

the Treeeeee!

DSCF6885 DSCF6888 DSCF6891 DSCF6895 DSCF6899

About marylekoshereillustrated

I remember pressing Silly Putty on the "Funnies" and peeling it back to see Charlie Brown printed on the putty. I remember my love of Disney animated movies. And Curious George. I remember family outings to the library and coming home with half the children's book section. And here I am, as a married woman, an adult if you will, with a fine collection of Calvin and Hobbes, Foxtrot, Peanuts, the list goes on... I've been a cartoonist (only a little one) and I've taken to creating my own children's books (yet to be published). Maybe someday a child will go to a library and come home with my artwork. Art is a beautiful thing. I feel blessed being a part of it. My work will take up a lifetime. Being an artist is inseparable from life. You're born one, like it or not. So welcome to my blog. Welcome to my world, illustrated.

Leave a comment

when i said it…

December 2014
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

No Instagram images were found.

what I’ve said before…